Skip to content Skip to the submenu
Official website of IBSA
(International Blind Sports Federation)
Change font size:
s xl xxl
Change contrast:
High Low
Social media:
Logo RSS Logo twitter Logo Facebook

IBSA Blind Football World Championships - reminder for participating countries

  • Date: 22-01-2018
  • Related to: Football
Logo for the 2018 IBSA Blind Football World Championships.The IBSA Blind Football World Championships, to be held in Madrid, Spain, in June 2018, are taking shape and the entry process has begun for the 16 teams which have qualified for the event.

The championships will take place from June 5th to 18th, with the opening match scheduled for Thursday June 7th after the opening ceremony, and the final set to take place on Sunday 17th June.

The following countries have qualified for the championships:

Spain (host country)
Brazil (reigning champions)
Costa Rica
Great Britain
South Korea

Participating countries are reminded they should confirm by next Thursday - 25th January - their intention to take up the slot awarded to them through the qualification process.

For full information on the IBSA Blind Football World Championships Madrid 2018, including the timelines for registration and payments, visit the entry on the IBSA calendar

Previous IBSA Blind Football World Championships:

1998 Campinas (Brazil)
2000 Jerez de la Frontera (Spain)
2002 Rio de Janeiro (Brazil)
2006 Buenos Aires (Argentina)
2010 Hereford (Great Britain)
2014 Tokyo (Japan)

Brazil has won the championships four times (1998, 2000, 2010 and 2014) and Argentina has two world titles (2002 and 2006). Click here to check out results from previous world championships.
IBSA logo Football
©2019 IBSA (International Blind Sports Federation) | Created and supported by