Skip to content Skip to the submenu
Official website of IBSA
(International Blind Sports Federation)
Change font size:
s xl xxl
Change contrast:
High Low
Social media:
Logo RSS Logo twitter Logo Facebook

Title-holders Brazil reveal squad for blind football Worlds

  • Date: 18-05-2018
  • Related to: Football
Brazilian players celebrate their Paralympic title at Rio 2016By CBDV

  Defending world champions Brazil have announced their 10-man squad for the 2018 IBSA Blind Football World Championships in Madrid, Spain, from 7-17 June.

  The roster, announced by Brazil’s manager Fabio Vasconcelos, includes eight players who were part of Brazil’s gold medal team at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games. The squad includes forwards Jefinho and Ricardinho, most valuable players of the 2010 and 2014 World Championships respectively.

  Four-time Paralympic champions Brazil are seeking the fifth World Championships trophy. In the last edition, in 2014 in Japan, the Brazilians beat rivals and two-time world champions Argentina 1-0 with a goal from Jefinho in extra-time.

  “We will have a last training phase in Sao Paulo between 27 May and 4 June to adjust the final details. People can be sure that will make a great tournament. Our goal is to win the title and secure our place at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games,” Vasconcelos said.

    Brazil will face Costa Rica, England and Mali in Group D in Madrid. The world champions kick off against Mali on 8 June, then face Costa Rica the following day and finish their participation in the group stage against England on 11 June.

  Team roster

    Goalkeepers Joao Paulo – ADESUL (Brazil) Luan – AGAFUC (Brazil)

  Defenders Cassio – ICB (Brazil) Damiao – AGAFUC (Brazil) Gledson – APADV (Brazil) Mauricio Dumbo - AGAFUC (Brazil)

  Forwards Jefinho – ICP (Brazil) Nonato – AGAFUC (Brazil) Ricardinho – AGAFUC (Brazil) Tiago Silva – AGAFUC (Brazil) Photo credit: Washington Alves/CPB/MPIX
IBSA logo Football
©2019 IBSA (International Blind Sports Federation) | Created and supported by