Skip to content Skip to the submenu
Official website of IBSA
(International Blind Sports Federation)
Change font size:
s xl xxl
Change contrast:
High Low
Social media:
Logo RSS Logo twitter Logo Facebook

Blind football seeks hosts for 2019 championships - reminder

  • Date: 03-07-2018
  • Related to: Football
Brazil vs Argentina in the final of the IBSA Blind Football World Championships Madrid 2018.
Following the biggest ever IBSA Blind Football World Championships in Madrid last month, the IBSA Football Committee would like to remind member organisations that the bidding process to host regional championships next year remains open until the end of this month.

The committee is seeking hosts to stage the following championships:

2019 African Championships
2019 American Championships
2019 Asian Championships
2019 Central American Championships
2019 European Championships Division 1
2019 European Championships Division 2

A number of these championships offer direct qualification for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic games.

The top eight teams at the 2017 European Championships in Berlin, Germany, qualify automatically for the 2019 European Championships Division 1 and are invited to bid to host the event. The championships should take place around the end of August or beginning of September.

The 2019 European Championships Division 2 will also be a qualifier for Division 1, with the top two teams given slots to play. The Division 2 event should take place in spring 2019. IBSA member organisations wishing to bid to host any of the above events are invited to express their interest by email to Mr Ulrich Pfisterer, Chair of the IBSA Football Committee (, with copy to Mr Henk van Aller, IBSA CEO (, by Tuesday July 31st. Member organisations may also submit a full bid by this date using the form above.

For more information on any of the championships contact

Follow IBSA Blind Football on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.
IBSA logo Football
©2019 IBSA (International Blind Sports Federation) | Created and supported by