Skip to content Skip to the submenu
Official website of IBSA
(International Blind Sports Federation)
Change font size:
s xl xxl
Change contrast:
High Low
Social media:
Logo RSS Logo twitter Logo Facebook

Final preparations for Pajulahti Goalball Euros and team roster update

  • Date: 13-09-2017
  • Related to: Goalball
Turkey (women) celebrates winning gold at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.
Organisers are putting the final touches to the IBSA Goalball European Championships 2017 at the  Pajulahti Sports Institute in Lahti, Finland, later this month.

The championships kick off next Monday (18th September) at 09:30 local time. In the men's event the Ukraine takes on the Czech Republic in Pool A then Slovenia and Lithuania open Pool B at 10:40, while in the women's competition Greece and the Ukraine meet in Pool Y at 09:30, followed by Great Britain vs Israel in Pool X

In the run up to the event, the organisers, the Finnish Sports Association of Persons with Disabilities, has published the fifth video in its 'Road to Pajulahti', series, presenting goalball as a sport and following the home team’s preparations towards the European Championships. There are English subtitles in the videos.

In the fifth part of the series Erkki Miinala of the Finnish men’s team, Susanna Halme of the Finnish women’s team and men’s head coach Jarkko Pokkinen share their views ahead of the Euros in home soil.

Unfortunately Miinala, one of the world’s top players, injured his throwing hand after this video was made and he will not be able to play in Pajulahti.

Click here to watch the video.

In addition to Miinala's injury, other teams have also made a number of last-minute changes to their squads. Here's the latest news on the rosters:


  First player is out, the latter is the replacement.

  Germany Marcel Lehmann –> Reno Tiede

  Ukraine Vitalii Haponenko –> Fedir Sydorenko

  Finland Erkki Miinala –> Ville Montonen

  Sweden Olof Ryberg –> Dzenan Ajdinovic

  Slovenia Elvis Hodzic –> Dejan Pirc


  First player is out, the latter is the replacement.


  Hazar Celik –> Sevda Altunoluk

  Zeynep Celik –> Nese Mercan

  Eda Sarsam –> Reyhan Yilmaz

  Germany Natascha Bretzke –> no replacement

  Denmark Sascha Karlsen –> no replacement

  Click here to view all the national squads. 

  There have now been five “Road to Pajulahti” videos published prior to the European Championships and the last part will be out soon after the end of the tournament. Previously published videos can be watched here:

All games will be streamed live on the home page of the European

European Championships in

Finnish goalball in

Caption: banner for the championships.
IBSA logo Goalball
©2020 IBSA (International Blind Sports Federation) | Created and supported by