Skip to content Skip to the submenu
Official website of IBSA
(International Blind Sports Federation)
Change font size:
s xl xxl
Change contrast:
High Low
Social media:
Logo RSS Logo twitter Logo Facebook

Argentina lifts IBSA Blind Football Americas title

  • Date: 04-12-2017
  • Related to: Football
Espinillo beats the Brazilian keeper to win the championships.In the final of the IBSA Blind Football American Championships, Argentina found a way to break Brazil's unbeaten run and take the title, winning 2-1 in a penalty shoot-out after a nil-nil draw.

Brazil's 57-game stretch without losing came to an end yesterday evening in Santiago de Chile as they were defeated on penalties in the final of the tournament by Argentina. 

Ricardinho scored from the spot for Brazil, but Silvio Velo and Maximiliano Espinillo were on the mark for Argentina to win the title for the first time since 2005.

Caption: Argentina poses with the trophy.

Colombia defeated Mexico 3-0 to take the bronze medals, while Chile beat Peru 2-1 on penalties after a 1-1 draw to secure fifth place.

Colombia's Juan Quintero took the award for top goal-scorer with 12 goals, and his teammate Jhon Gonzalez won the trophy for player of the tournament. 

Argentina, Colombia and Mexico have qualified to take part in the IBSA Blind Football World Championships in Madrid, Spain, in June 2018. As reigning world champions (Tokyo 2014), Brazil had already qualified automatically for Madrid 2018.

IBSA's local partners in hosting the event were the Chilean Sports Federation for the Visually Impaired and the Paralympic Committee of Chile.

Follow blind football action and news from around the world on the IBSA Blind Football Facebook page or Twitter feed.

Caption: logo for the IBSA Blind Football American Championships Chile 2017.


IBSA logo Football
©2020 IBSA (International Blind Sports Federation) | Created and supported by