Skip to content Skip to the submenu
Official website of IBSA
(International Blind Sports Federation)
Change font size:
s xl xxl
Change contrast:
High Low
Social media:
Logo RSS Logo twitter Logo Facebook

Costa Rica retains Central American Blind Football title

  • Date: 11-11-2019
  • Related to: Football
The Costa Rican team shows off its trophy.
The IBSA Blind Football Central American Championships concluded on Saturday evening in Guatemala City, and it was Costa Rica who held aloft the winner’s trophy thanks to a 5-0 victory over the hosts.

Costa Rica sealed its second Central American title following an impeccable tournament in which they scored 27 times in four matches and did not concede a single goal. On target for Costa Rica in Saturday’s final were Ángel Flores with 3 goals, and Daniel Contreras and Michael Mora with one apiece.

Caption: the teams and referees line up before the final. On a table in front of the referees are the trophies and medals.  

In Saturday’s morning match, El Salvador secured third place, defeating Nicaragua 2-1 in a penalty shoot- out following a 0-0 draw.

Top scorer at the championships, hosted by the Comité Pro Ciegos y Sordos de Guatemala, was young Costa Rican star player Ángel Flores on 15 goals, followed by his teammate Contreras. Flores also won the player of the tournament award while Nicaragua took the fair play award for its exemplary tournament.

Full results from the championships are now posted on this web site and available here.

Caption: Costa Rica star player Ángel Flores poses with his two trophies.
IBSA logo Football
©2020 IBSA (International Blind Sports Federation) | Created and supported by