Skip to content Skip to the submenu
Official website of IBSA
(International Blind Sports Federation)
Change font size:
s xl xxl
Change contrast:
High Low
Social media:
Logo RSS Logo twitter Logo Facebook

Football - General information

IBSA Blind Football Facebook page.

IBSA Women's Blind Football Network.

IBSA African Blind Football Network.


Football for the blind and partially sighted started out as a playground game for pupils in special schools for the visually impaired and has now become one of the most popular sports for people with a visual impairment worldwide.

The game was taken up in several countries, with each playing according to local rules (different balls and pitches, playing surfaces, rules varied from country to country, etc.).

A few countries such as Spain and Brazil set up national championships, and soon countries began to organise the first friendly international matches.

Caption: a Chinese player dribbles in a match against Argentina at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

Blind football - or futsal, as it is also known - became an official IBSA sports in 1996 when the federation decided to take the game on board. The first task was to agree and approve internationally recognised rules.

With a set of rules in place, the first IBSA European Championships were held in Barcelona, Spain, and the first American Championships took place in Asunción in Paraguay in 1997.

Since then IBSA regional and world championships have been held regularly and international friendly tournaments such as the IBSA Cup and World Grand Prix are a regular feature on the blind futsal calendar.

Brazil are the current IBSA Blind Football World Champions, winning the title in Tokyo in 2014. Brazil has won four IBSA world titles and Argentina two.

Caption: Jefinho scores for Brazil to win the 2014 IBSA World Championships in Tokyo, Japan.

The next world championships will take place in Madrid, Spain, in June 2018.

IBSA has two types of football - B1 for footballers who are completely blind, and B2/B3 for players who are partially sighted.

Caption: link to blind football highlights at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

Blind football has become one of the biggest sports on the Paralympic Games programme following its debut at Athens 2004. This was recognised at the London 2012 Paralympic Games when the number of teams taking part was increased from six to eight.

Blind football was one of the most popular sports at the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, where hosts Brazil won gold for the fourth time running. At the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games eight teams will compete for the title.  

Blind football enjoys support from UEFA for its development activities in Europe. 

Caption: Blind football at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games. A wide-angle shot of the venue with a game in play.
  Visit the Facebook page of Football
IBSA logo Football
©2021 IBSA (International Blind Sports Federation) | Created and supported by